Private Investigators Must Be Licensed by June in CO

Attorney’s use private investigators for a variety of reasons. As of June 1st you should ensure that your investigators are licensed with the Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA).

Pilum Defense Agency has been working with DORA during the Rule Making Hearings to offer suggestions on licensing requirements. We support the policies behind licensure which are intended to protect the public and raise the professionalism of the investigation industry in Colorado.

Under the mandatory licensure program (SB14-133), an applicant may apply for one of 2 types of licenses as follows:

Level I Private Investigator License:

• Requires the applicant to be at least 21 years of age
• Be lawfully present in the United States
• Pass a jurisprudence examination to demonstrate his or her knowledge and understanding of laws and rules applicable to the practice.
• Undergo a state and national fingerprint-based criminal history record check utilizing records of the Colorado Bureau of Investigation and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.
• Must post and maintain, or is covered by, a surety bond in the amount of at least ten thousand dollars ($10,000).

Level II Private Investigator License:

• Requires the applicant to satisfy the requirements applicable to a level I license AND have 4000 of verifiable hours in applicable experience.
• The 4000 verifiable hours of applicable experience in the following areas:
Private Investigation, Private Detective, Law Enforcement, or Military experience. A two-year, baccalaureate, masters or juris doctor degrees can also count towards the 4000 hours.

The bill also establishes other grounds for:

*Standards of Practice
*Discipline
*Exemptions

Site designed by Fusion Technologies